Tech work by contract rate instead of hourly pay.

Moderator: labman2

Tech work by contract rate instead of hourly pay.

Postby NightOwlRPSGT » Fri Oct 05, 2012 9:58 am

I had an idea, and I'm needing to know if its possible. I have little knowledge of insurance requirements and the business side of sleep labs.

I work for a IDTF that supplies technicians to hospitals in the area. The main hospital I work at bills for the study, and then the company I work for gets paid a contract rate per study, and as would be expected I get paid hourly, a small fraction of what the company is paid. My company just acts as a middleman collecting money while making no service contribution. The hospital is too small to hire a full time technician directly. However, I wonder if it is permissable for an individual to do as the company I am working for is doing. So instead of my company having the contract with the hospital, myself under an LLC having a contract with the hospital and getting paid per study as opposed to hourly. In doing so I would also be able to offer more than just running the studies as I currently do, such as taking care of paperwork, patient communication, reffering and interpreting Dr. communication, and Marketing, which would make the deal attractive to the hospital. Seems like it could work, but is there any catch anywhere that would not make it possible? Anyone have any thoughts?

Thanks
NightOwlRPSGT

Postby somnonaut » Fri Oct 05, 2012 11:14 am

If one company can contract, then another one can also.
The setup you describe is problematic for CMS patients, in that the billing entity (hospital) MUST have the technician as an employee, not a contract worker. So, if you are not doing CMS patients, then you are good to go, unless a private insurer has a similar stipulation.
somnonaut

Postby linuxgeek » Fri Oct 05, 2012 5:20 pm

I think it's always a good idea to look at it from each person's/entity's perspective before moving forward.