Fair Pay Rate, and help on advancement

Moderator: labman2

Fair Pay Rate, and help on advancement

Postby FetusInFetu » Sun Mar 28, 2004 9:22 am

i was just wondering if any 1 could help me out. i Just recently got a job at a sleep lab, with no prior expierence in the medical field, or sleep field. Ive been working here for about 5-6 months, and my starting/current pay is 12.00 hr. with no bennifits. I only work on the weekends, fri and sat night, from 8 pm till 8 am. with 3 patients a night. i have no problem preping PT, and i do PSG/TIT studies. we currently use the alice 4 system, and when i work im in the lab alone, so i basically do everything from cleaing the room/equipment/garbage etc. my question is, what can i do to get certifide, or what should i do to better my job qualifications? i am cpr certifide, and i am great with the PT, where they are constantly giving me great feedback to my superiors. also is this a normal pay rate for some 1 with no experience in ny? i also am currently in college, going for B.S in C.I.S. so i am very comfortable with the systems we use, ive read the manuels for all the units.
can any 1 give me sum insight?
FetusInFetu

Postby fanofcart » Sun Mar 28, 2004 12:53 pm

First, you should learn to spell. I am not saying this to be petty, but this post does not make you look good. With its numerous spelling and grammatical errors you are not a good ambassador for our profession.

And three patients a night by yourself, that is wrong. It is unfair to each patient if you are testing more than two per night; some patients need to be one-on-one.

$12.00 per hour for a start-up OJT is in the ballpark, though if you are working alone without a mentor, are you learning anything?
fanofcart

Need more specifics

Postby respbarb » Sun Mar 28, 2004 5:51 pm

I do agree that 3 patients a night is too much, however I understand that it is the case in many labs, some have even stated it is the norm in Canada.