Do Not Buy This

A forum for the comparison of PSG systems used for attended sleep studies in a sleep center.

Moderators: TexasSleepguy, labman2

Do Not Buy This

Postby Showmesleep » Tue Mar 18, 2003 5:26 pm

Okey dokey....in an uncensored way, I would like opinions on what equipment NOT to buy and why. Any help would be appreciated! :lol:
Showmesleep

Postby sleepadmin » Tue Mar 18, 2003 8:00 pm

Generally, you get what you pay for...

if you're budget won't let you buy a nicer system, you're stuck with a funky sysem.

With all things being equal though... I once used a system called Tele-Diagnostic... man-oh-man ](*,) what a headache. From what i understand you can pick one up for cheap.
sleepadmin
Admin

Postby Rick » Wed Mar 19, 2003 9:33 pm

I do tech support for a sensor manufacturer (Pro-Tech) and people ask me, since I am also a registered sleep tech and ran a center for 10 years for advice on this topic.
One way to look at this is, as was stated above, the best usually does cost more.
In addition to that you have to figure out what is more important to you; is the ease of set up and beginning acquisition more important than simple scoring/staging steps; what about digital video; company/manufacturer longevity, will they be here next year; setting up the format of reports.
These are good things to prioritize and use in a sort of matrix to help you decide which will fit you best.
Remember to always try out a system, they can hook it up in parallel to what is currently being used so you can do a side by side comparison and get input from night techs and scoring techs.
Hope some of this helps.
Rick

Postby BillA » Wed Mar 19, 2003 10:36 pm

Rick,