Impedances with Xltek

Impedances with Xltek

Postby nitenitebaby » Wed Apr 01, 2009 11:40 am

We recently changed equipment from Rembrant to Xltek and since the change the techs have had a very hard time getting the impedances down. The techs didn't have a problem getting the impedances down on Rembrant but since the change we can't get one study with all the electrodes at for below 5 kohms. Does anyone else have this problem with the equipment? All the techs are RPSGT with many years in the sleep field. No newbies. It's even to the point to where the techs are now asking for training classes on how to prep a patient.
nitenitebaby
Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 12:29 am
Location: Houston

Postby somnonaut » Wed Apr 01, 2009 4:07 pm

Is it measured ONLY through the system, or independently through an Ohm meter?
User avatar
somnonaut
Senior Member
 
Posts: 14138
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 6:03 pm
Location: http://tinyurl.com/righteousdude

Postby nitenitebaby » Wed Apr 01, 2009 4:24 pm

only thru the system
nitenitebaby
Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 12:29 am
Location: Houston

Postby somnonaut » Wed Apr 01, 2009 6:48 pm

corrborate impedance with external meter. It is most likely system related and not the true nature of the electrodes. Did you change electrodes types with the new system?
User avatar
somnonaut
Senior Member
 
Posts: 14138
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 6:03 pm
Location: http://tinyurl.com/righteousdude

Postby Rick » Sun Apr 05, 2009 10:38 pm

Also, you need to remember that with new amplifiers it is more important to get impedance matching than low impedances.
If all electrodes are at 10K ohms you will get better signals than if one is at 10K ohms and the rest at 500 ohms and anywhere in between.
User avatar
Rick
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 8:42 pm
Location: Everett, WA

Postby nitenitebaby » Wed Apr 08, 2009 11:27 am

We are going to test it with the ohms meter. Thanks for your input.
To reply to getting the impedances to match with the new amplifiers, we are an accredited lab and have to follow the AASM guidelines. We have a doctor the dictates that due to high impedances abnormal EEG can not be identified and if seizure activity is suspected a routine EEG would need to be completed. I score the studies and I have no problem with the signals unless of course leads came off but I'm talking about studies that the impedances are lower than 10kohms with identifiable EEG abnormalities. Techs are required to lower their impedances or have their studies dictated that inadequate testing performed.
nitenitebaby
Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 12:29 am
Location: Houston

Postby somnonaut » Wed Apr 08, 2009 12:12 pm

My EEG dept moved to XLTEK about 2 years ago. Very unhappy.
User avatar
somnonaut
Senior Member
 
Posts: 14138
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 6:03 pm
Location: http://tinyurl.com/righteousdude

how did your impedance test go?

Postby sleeplessStoneyCreek » Sat Apr 11, 2009 2:10 am

Hi - you said you were going to compare your xltek impedance values with an independent ohm meter - did you ? if so, how did it go? (I'm asking cause I've seen the same thing but have never compared it with another meter. thx.
sleeplessStoneyCreek
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 5:29 am
Location: Ontario Canada

impedences down

Postby nancy » Mon Sep 28, 2009 8:27 pm

we, did change to (Xltek) about 2months ago.
I had the same problem, I finally learn this system is very sensitive. I always scrub with lemon prep,but I guess I would not remove all the grits. Nu prep was less abrasive. Its working so far. believe I had stressful nights because of my impedences #-o
User avatar
nancy
Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 11:25 am
Location: San Antonio,TX


Return to Inspirex (XLTEK)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron